2021 Workshop Program

International Procrastination Research Workshop
FINAL WORKSHOP PROGRAM & SCHEDULE

Monday – July 12, 2021

10:00 EDT/16:00 CEST – Welcome and Announcements (5 minutes)

Tim Pychyl (Carleton University, Ottawa, Canada)

10:05 EDT/16:05 CEST – Panel session 1 – Construct Definition (45 minutes)

Defining Procrastination: A Venn Diagram to Consider
Jason Wessel (Psychologist Practitioner/Researcher, Australia)

Fickle, Vague, and Anemic:  The Role of Defective Intentions in Culpably Unwarranted Delay
Joel Anderson (Utrecht University, The Netherlands)

When Does Delay Become Procrastination?: Developmental Considerations
Ranjana Dutta (Saginaw Valley State University, Michigan, USA)

10:45 EDT/16:45 CEST – Research Roundtable 1a (30 minutes)

The Role of State and Trait Motivational Regulation for Procrastinatory Behavior in Academic Contexts: Insights From Two Diary Studies. (Contemporary Educational Psych, 65, 101951 (2021)
Lisa Bäulke , Martin Daumiller, Markus Dresel (University of Augsburg, Germany)

The Specificity of Executive Functioning in Academic Procrastination
Jaroslaw M. Michałowski & Ewa Wiwatowska (SWPS University of Social Sciences and Humanities in Poznań, Poland)

Network Analysis of Procrastination and Perfectionism in the Self-Regulation of Health and Well-Being
Fuschia Sirois and Orestis Zavlis (University of Sheffield, UK)

BREAK 10 minutes

11:30 EDT/17:30 CEST – Research Roundtable 2a (40 minutes)

What Makes High School Students Procrastinate?
Annika Neuhaus (Düsseldorf University of Applied Science, Germany) , Katrin B. Klingsieck (Paderborn University, Germany), Carola Grunschel (Münster University, Germany), Stefan Roggenkamp (Düsseldorf University of Applied Science, Germany), Antje Hunger (Düsseldorf University of Applied Science, Germany

Academic Procrastination in Online Learning and Computationally Modeling Individual and Group Academic Procrastination, Reza Feyzi Behnagh &  Semih Bursali (University of Albany, SUNY, New York, USA) and Joseph Ferrari (DePaul University, Chicago, USA)

Shirking From Home: An Experience Sampling Study on the Role of Media Habits for Procrastination When Working From Home
Adrian Meirer (Friedrich Alexander University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany)

Life-Domain Procrastination and Life Satisfaction: A Cross Cultural Perspective.
Marina Goroshit & Meirav Hen (Tel-Hai Academic College, Israel)

Does Social Background Influence Procrastination?
Edith O. Strand (Inland Norway University of Applied Sciences, Norway)

BREAK 10 minutes

12:20 EDT/18:20 CEST – Panel session 2 – Intervention (40 minutes)

Preventing and Reducing Academic Procrastination: Direct and Indirect Approaches Tailored to Specific Needs
Carola Grunschel (University of Münster, Germany) & Katrin B. Klingsieck (Paderborn University, Germany)

A Need for More Intervention Studies for Academic Procrastination
Akira Miyake (University of Colorado, Boulder, USA)

End of Day 1 at 1300 EDT/1900 CEST

 INFORMAL NETWORKING

(Zoom will remain active for another hour if desired)

Tuesday, July 13, 2021

10:00 EDT/16:00 CEST – Panel session 3 – Methodological Issues (40 minutes)

A Discussion of Methodological Issues in Measurement of Academic Procrastination
Reza Feyzi Behnagh (University of Albany, SUNY, New York, USA) & Joseph Ferrari (DePaul University, Chicago, USA)

Content Analysis in Procrastination Research
Bill McCown & Burt Ashworth (The University of Louisiana at Monroe, USA)

10:40 EDT/17:40 CEST – Research Roundtable 1b (30 minutes)

A Low‐Intensity, High‐Frequency Intervention to Reduce ProcrastinationApplied Psychology  (2020) https://doi.org/10.1111/apps.12293 (2020)
Jason Wessel, Graham L. Bradley & Michelle Hood (Griffith University, Australia)

Cognitive Control in Procrastination
Ewa Wiwatowska & Jaroslaw M. Michałowski (SWPS University of Social Sciences and Humanities in Poznań, Poland)

Identifying Carelessness on a Procrastination Survey in the US and China
Ranjana Dutta, Tyler Saez, and Quentin Jezewski (Saginaw Valley State University, Michigan, USA)

Enhancing Goal-related Meaning and Positive Emotions to Reduce Procrastination
Sisi Yang, Fuschia Sirois, & Claudia C von Bastian (University of Sheffield, UK)

BREAK 10 minutes

11:20 EDT/17:20 CEST – Research Roundtable 2b (45 minutes)

Systemic Intervention in General Procrastination
Angel Chapa (Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo León, México)

Positive Peer Pressure: Preventing Procrastination Using Group Work
Markus Koppenborg (University of Cologne, Germany)  & Katrin B. Klingsieck (Paderborn University, Germany)

Are Deadline Pacing and Procrastination Good for Creativity?
Wendelien van Eerde (University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands), Fuschia Sirois (University of Sheffield, UK) & Jana Kühnel (University of Vienna, Austria)

A Project-Analytic Perspective on the Role of Mood-Repair and Irrational Beliefs in Procrastination
Shamarukh Chowdhury & Tim Pychyl (Carleton University, Ottawa, Canada)

BREAK 10 minutes

12:20 EDT/18:20 CEST – Panel session 4 – Theory (40 minutes)

Why Do People Procrastinate? A Temporal Mood-Repair Theory perspective
Fuschia Sirois (University of Sheffield, UK)

Facets of Temporal Motivational Theory as an Emotion Regulation Strategy to Counteract the Negative Mood Repair of Procrastination Associated With Work Task Completion
Michael Curtin (Private Sector, Cahir, Ireland)

WORKSHOP WRAP UP at 1300 EDT/1900 CEST

Informal discussion as desired